Department of Economics

History of Economics department
Course Offered
Faculty and Profiles


The Department of Economics was established in 1956 with the blessings of the Founder Correspondent of our College Late Sri Nannapaneni Venkat Rao , humanist, socialist and godfather of the downtrodden.


The Department has a Library with 100 books and 5 Journals .h provision of internet. Students are permitted to make use of the library as well net.


The Department conducts Learner Centered activities like Study Projects, Quiz, Buzz, Class Room Seminars It conducts Remedial Coaching for academically backward students Observes important days Organizes Guest lectures for the benefit of students.

Industrial/ Educational Tours :

Under the umbrella of Humanities, three departments together organize tours, which are beneficial to students.

Extension Activities:

Participate in all the rallies and extension activities organized by the Management of VSR&NVR College.
D Gangaiah - Registered for Ph.D at ANU, Guntur.

Lecture on Aids/HIV

By D Gangaiah (Lecturer in Economics)

Lecture on "INFLATION"

By M RAMESH (Lecturer in Economics)
P B Siddartha Arts & Science College

Present Faculty Member are:

M Pattabhi Rama Rao(1985) : He wrote First Year Intermediate Economics Book for TELUGU Academy .
Member College Governing body, Admissions committee, Sports council member in our college.
He attended one international seminar, conducted one national seminar. He presented 10 papers in national seminars and attended 18 national seminars.
He conducted Quiz, Buzz sessions, Study project etc.

D Gangaiah (2002) : He was on college admission committee, UGC committee.
Resource Person for Group I, Group II B.Ed Entrance Exams, offered Remedial coaching for Academically Back Word Students.
Attended 20 National seminars, 15 Paper presentations were made in national seminars.
In 2012 July Passed in APSET , Registered in Research for Ph.D in ANU, Guntur and working as Counsellor in Dr.B R Ambedkar Open University at V S R & N V R College Tenali .

The Retired Faculty members of the Department of Economics are

  1. G Paripurna Chandra Rao (1959-1991)
  2. T Ranga Rao (1960-1993)
  3. M Venugopal Rao(1962-1992)
  4. K Anjeneyulu (1964-1992)
  5. G Subba Rao (1966-1997)
  6. M Prasada Rao (1959-2003)
  7. R Aruna (1973-2005)
  8. K Chestopher(1985-2013)

Sri M Pattabhi Rama Rao and Sri D Gangaiah are the aided members of the Department .